Stitch like a bitch.

26 Aug

In todays customization tutorial I will show you how to turn an old, boring and tired denim jacket…

…into an amazing one-of-a-kind, patches-a-plenty, fringe-flyin’ gillet…

First things first, get your adult helper (aka Heather, aka Benny’s mam) to cut off the sleeves…

Next up pretend you’re Leatherface. Take a bread knife, pretend its a kick-ass chain-saw and saw around the arm hole to fray the edges…

Place the pink fringe across the top hem on back of the jacket in order to get the right size…

Then use a simple running stitch in order attach the fringe to the jacket (well, duh)…

TA-DA you now have a fantastic, fringey, frayed gillet…

Now, before starting this mini project, I thought this would be the end but after trying it on I decided that it’s a bit plain and needed something extra to jazz it up a bit. I decided to add some patches to it; after looking around my house for cool things I could sew onto the back of the gillet I found some old Laura Lee’s dresses which always have pretty cool patches on them – oh, and an iron-on one from Boyes.

Then start to stitch like a bitch (my life would be so much easier if I knew how to work my sewing machine.) I first started by sewing the stars onto the front pockets…

After doing so, the front of the gillet should end up like this…

Next up, place the patches on the back of the jacket where you are going to sew them and then yet again start to stitch like a bitch…

With the iron on patch, place it on the jacket (sticky side down), take damp cloth and place it over the top and iron over it for about 10 seconds…

Then TA-DA (again) your once tired denim jacket should of fantastically turned into a new and incredibly unique on-trend gillet…

I think One Man Gang would approve…

Leave a Reply

