Lemon Meringue Pie :D

2 Aug

Another boring Monday with nothing to do *sigh* so like every other student in the land I watched Come Dine With Me (for about the 1000th time so far whilst I’ve been off uni since May.) It was then after all five episodes had finished I decided to make a lemon meringue pie.

Here is my mini adventure my mam and I (you physically can’t make this all on your own) went through to turn this…

Into this sexy beast of a lemon meringue pie…

my dad had managed to steal a piece before i could take a pic!

I know it might be a bit of a cheat to use a ready made cake mix but it was only 50p and plus I HATE SIFTING!!

First thing you must do is grease up a circular tin (iamgine its Randy Orton’s body):

Then ask a parent (it’s like Art Attack/Blue Peter all over again) to sort out the greaseproof paper as it is utterly impossible. However, I have now learnt – well I think I have – the reason to why you need to grease the tin then place the paper on top. It’s so the paper has something to stick to rather then just moving about and not staying put. Previous to this I tried to make the greaseproof paper stick to the tin by using blu tak!

take off my ring mam!

Then melt 50g of Stork in a pan until it looks like the sun in the sky:

Next up you add the biscuit base mix and stir it all within the butter so it ends up like this:

Scoop the biscuit base into the pan and well, the instructions say patter it down with a spoon but that is like impossible! So the best thing to do is to use your fingers, then pop it into the oven for about 15 minutes (yet again, the box says 5 but it likes to lie.)

Then you add the lemon erm jelly come liquid come powder mix thing to 1/2 pint of water and the yolk of one egg and stir it until it boils:

how cute is that tiny whisk!

Next up is the most amazing part ever, turning a simple egg white into meringue – this just simply blows my mind how such a tiny bit of liquid can turn into a great big whippy cream thing. Whisk the egg white with an electric mixer (gosh, it must take forever to do this by hand) and it should turn out like this:

it's just like come dine with me.

By now the base and lemon mixture should of cooled down, so the next step is to pour the lemon liquid onto the biscuity base. Rather then pouring it around just dump it all in the middle then use a spoon this time (defo not your fingers) to spread it over the base evenly and it should end up like this, well it should end up better then this as we did have a hard time:

Spread the amazing meringue mixture all over the top – it’s best to use the back of a spoon for this:

Pop the Lemon Meringue Pie into the oven for about a hour (it claims 20 minutes but oh no no no!) but do keep an eye on it as you may prefer it just slightly gold so you will have to take it out sooner of if you are like my family and like it nice and crispy keep it there until its brown and hard to the touch. Hopefully by the end it should look like this extravangaza:

Then its THAT time, the thing that I can never ever EVER do! It’s time to remove the meringue from the greaseproof paper. Whenever I make a cake it ALWAYS gets stuck to the paper thus having to basically eat the paper. So if anybody has any tips on how to make sure the cake doesn’t stick to the paper, please tell me!

It may be a mess on the outside, but it don’t half taste nice on the inside. A bit like me really!

Leave a Reply

