Chocolate cake :)/:(

26 Jul

So today when I got back home I thought “i’m ttly going to make a cake right now.” So I did of course and here is the mini adventure I went through to achieve this…

Now normally I like to make a cake from scratch but whilst walking aimlessly through Sainsburys the other day I came across a killer amount of easy-to-do cake mixes for a mere 50p-ish each so I went overboard and bought 5 different kinds.

Today I decided to make the chocolate cake as it would take the shortest amount of time and it was already 8.15 and Dragons Den was on at 9.

So because it was a one whole cake mix in a bag all I needed to do was put the mix into a bowl…

Add a scarily large amount of stork…

And 3 – YES 3!! – eggs (good time capture there mam)…

Then it should look like this – if you squint and tilt your head to the side you can kinda see Jim Ross…

Then its that worrying time where you’re afraid if the mix will go every-bleeding-where, it’s time to whisk it all up until its smooth-ish…

Pour the cake mix into a circular cake tin and patter it down so the cake doesn’t end up all bumpy like a 14-year-olds skin…

Then its time for the only requirement when making a cake – licking the bowl!… (sneaky sneaky)

Then put the cake in the oven for around 30 mins – the instructions say 20 minutes but they like to lie their asses off.

Now its time to make the icing!

Add another scarily large amount of butter…

Then an EXTREME amount of icing sugar…

Whisk it all together and add some red food dye to make it pink of course and hopefully it WON’T end up like this…

Now, now, now all I want in life is too make some yummy buttercream icing such as the one you find on the cupcakes from M&S but ohh no, no, no this NEVER EVER happens.

This is the forth time I have tried and the forth time I have failed. I follow the instructions word-by-word and the youtube videos frame-by-frame and IT JUST DOESN’T HAPPEN!

If anybody knows how to make wonderful buttercream icing please come round my house and show me how since all the other possible ways just doesn’t work for me :-(.

Anyways…

After 30 mins-ish take the cake out of the oven – make sure to stick a knife in the cake (pretend its the body of somebody you hate) and if the knife comes out clean then the cake is ready.

Oh, how I wish it had just stayed like that.

Then its the most worrying time for me – time to remove the greaseproof paper (greaseproof paper = my biggest enemy) and yes like usual the paper which shouldn’t stick stuck and removed half of the cake along with it and it made the top break!

Then it’s time to add the stupid icing – I wasn’t not going to add it through all the pain I went through – and of course you need to add lots and lots of sprinkles…

And TA-DA there you have it a yummy chocolate/pink icing/sprinkles aplenty cake.

It may not look the best cake in the world but it sure as hell is yummy (even if greaseproof paper is still stuck on the bottom of the cake itself.)

Ignore my bong-eye please!

Next time i’m making lemon meringue, PLEASE wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Chocolate cake :)/:(”

  1. changered July 28, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    You are so pretty and talented. Weee, my birthday is coming and I want my cake to look EXACTLY like thaat, so beautiful!

    Thanks for sharing =)

    Ruku x
    http://rukutaneja.wordpress.com/

    • Chantalina July 29, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

      ooh it may look nice but it doesn’t taste all that good 😦 I’m only eating it as nobody else is and I love anything sweet lol xx

Leave a Reply

